Contact and Submissions

nav

The Navigator is Vancouver Island University’s (formerly Malaspina University–College) student newspaper. Founded in 1969 as a monthly publication, The Navigator (aka The Nav) soon evolved into the current biweekly publication. In 1992, The Nav became an incorporated society under the Society Act of BC.

The paper is run completely by students—from the business end of selling ads and bookkeeping, to writing, designing, and editing. The Nav strives to provide a venue for students to gain professional experience, and act as an outlet to bring pressing student and community issues to the public eye.

Submissions: All submissions must be the original work of the author. To see examples of submissions, click here. Editors reserve the right to refuse submissions, and to edit for space or clarity. Letters to the editor should be no more than 400 words in length. The Navigator does not pay for letters. Please send submissions to editor@thenav.ca.

Opinions expressed in The Navigator and thenav.ca are expressly those of the author and/or artist and do not reflect the views of The Navigator staff as a whole. 


The Navigator 2016/17 Masthead

Managing Editor/Captain

Molly Barrieau editor@thenav.ca

Associate Editor/Skipper

Natalie Gates associate@thenav.ca

Production Manager/Chief Stewardess

Catherine Charlebois production@thenav.ca

Copy Editor/Stewardesses

Diana Pearson column@thenav.ca

Web, Social Media/Seamen

Spenser Smith, Elissa Doerksen web@thenav.casocial@thenav.ca

News Editor/Helmsman

news@thenav.ca

Sports Editor/Buccaneer 

Cole Schisler sports@thenav.ca

Arts Editor/Seafarer

Brendan Barlow arts@thenav.ca

Art Director, Graphics Designer/Engineers

Avery Crosson, Jessica Pirson, Zyre Hoskins graphics@thenav.ca

Business Manager, Ad Sales Reps/Sea Dogs

Christine Franic ads@thenav.ca

Bookkeeper/Logkeeper

Lynne Williams 

System Administrator

Johnny Blakeborough admin@thenav.ca


Phone: (250) 753-2225 Fax: (250) 753-2257

900, 5th Street, Building 193, rm. 217 Nanaimo, BC V9R 5S5

Find us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter