nav

The Navigator is Vancouver Island University’s (formerly Malaspina University–College) student press. Founded in 1969 as a newspaper, the Navigator (aka The Nav) recently evolved into a monthly magazine. In 1992, the Nav became an incorporated society under the Society Act of BC.

The magazine is run completely by students—from the business end of selling ads and bookkeeping, to writing, designing, and editing. The Nav strives to provide a venue for students to gain professional experience and act as an outlet to bring pressing student and community issues to the public eye.

Submissions: The Nav welcomes content submissions from VIU students, staff, faculty, and alumni. We accept all types of media, including video, visual art, photography, fiction, poetry, creative nonfiction, comics, and all types of long-form features.

Except for creative writing submissions, which may vary in length, all articles submitted for in-print publication must be a long-form feature (1000–2000 words.) These must be pitched to the Managing Editor or appropriate content editor prior to submission; contact information can be found under the masthead in print or online at <thenav.ca>. All other reportage (arts previews, 300–600-word news pieces, etc.) will be published online.

Submissions must be the original work of the author, and coursework—material created for university credit—must be marked by an instructor prior to submission.

All submissions must be the original work of the author. Editors reserve the right to refuse submissions and to edit for space or clarity. Please send submissions to editor@thenav.ca.

Only at VIU: Click here to submit a VIU experience for our “Only at VIU” section.

Opinions expressed in the Navigator and thenav.ca are expressly those of the author and/or artist and do not reflect the views of the Navigator staff as a whole. 


Contact

Managing Editor

Zachery Cooper editor@thenav.ca

Associate Editor

Lys Morton associate@thenav.ca

News Editor

N. M. Mellino news@thenav.ca

Features Editor

Caileigh Broatch features@thenav.ca

Sports Editor 

Elijah Robinson sports@thenav.ca

Arts Editor

Erinn Sturgeon arts@thenav.ca

Online Reporter

Jade Vandergrift web@thenav.ca

Copy Editor

Aislinn Cottell  column@thenav.ca

Social Media

Carrie Davis social@thenav.ca

Art Director, Graphics Designer

Sara Holmes, Teigan Mudle, Joe Thoong graphics@thenav.ca

Business Manager, Ad Sales Reps

Christine Franic, Amber Branchi ads@thenav.ca

Bookkeeper

Lynne Williams 

System Administrator

Johnny Blakeborough admin@thenav.ca


Phone: (250) 753-2225 Fax: (250) 753-2257

900, 5th Street, Building 193, rm. 217 Nanaimo, BC V9R 5S5