VIU Student Press

nav

The Navigator is Vancouver Island University’s (formerly Malaspina University–College) student press. Founded in 1969 as a newspaper, the Navigator (aka the Nav) recently evolved into a monthly magazine. In 1992, the Nav became an incorporated society under the Society Act of BC.

The magazine is run completely by students—from the business end of selling ads and bookkeeping, to writing, designing, and editing. The Nav strives to provide a venue for students to gain professional experience, and act as an outlet to bring pressing student and community issues to the public eye.

Submissions: All submissions must be the original work of the author. To see examples of submissions, click here. Editors reserve the right to refuse submissions, and to edit for space or clarity. Letters to the editor should be no more than 400 words in length. The Navigator does not pay for letters. Please send submissions to editor@thenav.ca.

Only at VIU: Click here to submit a VIU experience for our “Only at VIU” section.

Opinions expressed in the Navigator and thenav.ca are expressly those of the author and/or artist and do not reflect the views of the Navigator staff as a whole. 


Contact

Managing Editor

Cole Schisler editor@thenav.ca

Associate Editor

Spenser Smith associate@thenav.ca

News Editor

Rhyly Bell news@thenav.ca

Features Editor

Jesse Bixby features@thenav.ca

Sports Editor 

Justin Shankaran sports@thenav.ca

Arts Editor

Cheryl Folland arts@thenav.ca

Online Reporter

Mallory Mars web@thenav.ca

Copy Editor

Aislinn Cottell  column@thenav.ca

Social Media

Sarah Packwood  social@thenav.ca

Art Director, Graphics Designer

Zyre Hoskins, Sara Holmes, Kent MacDonald graphics@thenav.ca

Business Manager, Ad Sales Reps

Christine Franic, Amber Branchi ads@thenav.ca

Bookkeeper

Lynne Williams 

System Administrator

Johnny Blakeborough admin@thenav.ca


Phone: (250) 753-2225 Fax: (250) 753-2257

900, 5th Street, Building 193, rm. 217 Nanaimo, BC V9R 5S5