The Navigator is Vancouver Island University’s (formerly Malaspina University–College) student press. Founded in 1969 as a newspaper, The Navigator (aka The Nav) recently evolved into a monthly magazine. In 1992, The Nav became an incorporated society under the Society Act of BC. The Nav transitioned in 2020 to a fully online magazine in order to better serve evolving news mediums. 

The magazine is run completely by students—from the business end of selling ads, marketing, and social media, to writing, designing, and editing. The Nav strives to provide a venue for students to gain professional experience and act as an outlet to bring pressing student and community issues to the public eye.

Submissions: The Nav welcomes content submissions from VIU students, staff, faculty, and alumni. We accept all types of media, including video, visual art, photography, fiction, poetry, creative nonfiction, comics, and all types of long-form features.

Submissions must be pitched to the Managing Editor via email at editor@thenav.ca. Long-form feature pieces must be in the 1000-2000 word range while arts previews, news pieces, and other content in the word range of 300-600.

Submissions must be the original work of the author, and coursework—material created for university credit—must be marked by an instructor prior to submission.

The Navigator reserves the right to refuse submissions and to edit for space or clarity.

Only at VIU: Click here to submit a VIU experience for our “Only at VIU” section.

Opinions expressed in the Navigator and thenav.ca are expressly those of the author and/or artist and do not reflect the views of the Navigator staff as a whole. 


Contact

Below are the contacts for The Nav staff. Feel free to reach out to the appropriate position with coverage ideas and praise but please reserve any criticisms for the Managing Editor.

Managing Editor

Sean Desrochers – editor@thenav.ca

 

Associate Editor

Megan Zolorycki – associate@thenav.ca

 

News Editor

Chris Beaton – news@thenav.ca

 

Features Editor

Sophia Wasylinko – features@thenav.ca

 

Sports Editor 

Vacant – sports@thenav.ca

 

Arts Editor

Bella Hoodle – arts@thenav.ca

 

Copy Editor

Tianna Vertigan – copy@thenav.ca

 

Audio Editor

Vancant – audio@thenav.ca

 

Videographers

Ben Rosnau – video@thenav.ca

Mike Duddy – videography@thenav.ca

 

Social Media Manager

Jenna Cronshaw – social@thenav.ca

 

Marketing Manager

Claire Tomalty – marketing@thenav.ca

 

Website Designer

Kaelan Baker – webdesigner@thenav.ca

 

Illustrator/Graphic Designer 

Celia Brand – illustrator@thenav.ca

 

Bookkeeper

Karen Adams – accounting@thenav.ca

 

System Administrator

Johnny Blakeborough admin@thenav.ca

 

900, 5th Street, Building 193, rm. 217 Nanaimo, BC V9R 5S5

Let's Make Things Official

Get a curated list of articles sent directly to your email once a week. It’s not delivery, its Delissio